Current | Archives | Note | Design | Diaryland | 100 | Guestbook
100

2004-02-19 10:11 a.m. Instructions: Copy this whole list into your journal. Bold the things that you have in common with me. Whatever you don't bold, replace with things about you.

1. I�m right-handed.

2. I spend a lot of time in front of computers.

3. I�d read Pitchfork before I�d pick up a book.

4. I was born in the first half of December.

5. That makes me a Sagittarius to the core.

6. This means I have a tendency to be excessive.

7. I do realize that who I am has nothing to do with the way the stars and planets were aligned the day I was born.

8. Word never used to describe me - quiet

9. Word not in my vocabulary - limits

10. Words that mean something to me - loyalty, honesty, empathy, family.

11. I pick my nose a lot.

12. is my favorite number

13. I love to cook though my know-how is limited to 80s style comfort food and casseroles.

14. I make a mean beef stew.

15. I will never be a vegetarian.

16. I am a music aficionado to the point of annoyance and obsessiveness.

17. Most of my disposable income and free time are spent on CDs and concerts.

18. The best concert I ever went to was the Ninja Tunes tour of 1997. There was a whole lotta breakdancing going on.

19. Things I will always talk about: sex, music, relationships, baseball and �The Golden Girls.�

20. Most of my favorite bands/musicians start with the letter M: Mos Def, Morphine, Magnetic Fields, Massive Attack, Madlib, The Maytals, My Morning Jacket, Mr. Airplane Man, The Mars Volta and most anything by The Muppets.

21. Oh, and Miles Davis though that would fall under D.

22. I love really bad movies such as �Cobra,� �Conan The Destroyer,� and �Cannonball Run 2.�

23. But I�m also a fan of Stanley Kubrick, Hayao Miyazaki and David Lynch.

24. I always carry AA batteries, a book I don�t read, walkman, CDs and gum.

25. I'm a bit of a tomboy.

26. My only girly guilty pleasure is unique rings.

27. My dad has 8 brothers and sisters. My mom has 11 plus two adopted.

28. No one on both sides of the family in my generation has more than 2 kids of their own.

29. Five generations are alive and well on my mom�s side.

30. I don't want kids.

31. Or pets.

32. I want someone who can be as recklessly passionate about me as I could be about him.

33. I think about my mom everyday.

34. Of all the things I miss about her, I miss her smile the most.

35. I almost poisoned my brother to death (accidentally) when we were kids.

36. Despite this, we are best friends and roommates.

37. We have been roommates for four years.

38. I took hula lessons until I was 11.

39. I hope to take hula lessons again soon.

40. I'm a very good dancer, but have a tendency to lead.

41. I don�t draw very well.

42. I don�t drive very well either.

43. I actually enjoy public transportation but not because of #42.

44. Biggest pet peeve is people who don�t abide by simple public transportation etiquette of letting passengers out of the car before entering.

45. Because I�m a cityhiker, I don�t have a good sense of distance. I can only relate to distance in terms of blocks and minutes spent walking.

46. I hate bad manners.

47. But I burp loudly in front of my closest friends.

48. Most of my friends live within a seven block radius.

49. Each of us is single though I can�t understand why.

50. My urban tribe makes MA feel more like home than anywhere else I�ve lived.

51. I don�t really have a hometown.

52. I also don�t have a home to go home to when I go �home.�

53. So it�s hard to say where I�m from when asked because I went to high school in Illinois (near St. Louis) but grew up in Hawaii.

54. I religiously follow the Cardinals, the Rams, the Fighting Illini and my beloved Red Sox. But I�m the biggest Kansas City Chiefs fan you�ll ever meet this side of the Mississippi.

55. I worry I�m known as the girl who talks too much about nothing.

56. I also worry people think I�m stupid.

57. Actually I worry a lot about things that shouldn�t matter, and don�t pay much mind to things that matter the most.

58. I�ve never seeked professional help for it, but I know it�s a problem.

59. I daydream constantly.

60. One of my dreams is to own a bar like my aunt's.

61. I�d name it Dive. It would have a piano, a jukebox, a late night appetizer menu, isolated dartboards, top-rail scotches and vodka, and a Friday night classic soul dance party.

62. I�m happiest when I�m either dancing or swimming.

63. I�m saddest at Christmas time.

64. Giving presents any other time of the year for no reason is one of my greatest joys.

65. Though I�ve lost 40 pounds and gained a healthy dose of self-esteem, I still have a dysmorphic sense of my outer beauty.

66. I have this unshakable feeling that I�m severely cross-eyed but no one will tell me.

67. I�m really, really, really hard on myself.

68. But deep down inside I know I�m a pretty good person who does an occasional not so good thing.

69. I smile a lot, which is my most deceiving quality.

70. I have the worst sense of balance.

71. I tip over easily and stumble a lot.

72. I take pilates twice a week, which has helped tremendously.

73. I�ve also taken up running, which is kind of odd for a smoker.

74. I�ve been a full-fledged smoker since age 15.

75. I�ve accepted the fact that I may never quit.

76. I occasionally dabble in illegal substances but not the the point of addiction or dire need.

77. I�m ridiculously passionate about Halloween.

78. My past costumes include Schneider from �One Day At A Time,� Tracy Turnblad from �Hairspray,� a gumball machine, Nurse Gollum from �South Park,� and a Port-A-Potty.

79. I�m already taking notes for next year�s costume.

80. I save lots of sentimental crap like concert stubs and pamphlets of places I�ve been to.

81. I've never travelled outside the States.

82. My dream is to spend a month in the South Pacific, New Zealand and Australia.

83. I love to shoot fotos.

84. I�ll never go digital.

85. Or own a cell phone.

86. The pace at which we�re technologically advancing frightens me.

87. The fact that I can�t keep up scares me even more.

88. I played volleyball competitively for seven years.

89. My left knee was injured twice from playing.

90. I love to play card games.

91. My mom taught me to play poker when I was 10 years old.

92. When I was in high school I used to sit and observe poker games that my aunt used to host at her bar.

93. Though I�m not religious or have a spiritual side, I believe in guardian angels.

94. I also believe in the healing powers of chocolate.

95. I heart online diaries and don�t know what I�d do without mine.

96. I also keep a paper journal for the meatier thoughts I want to keep to myself.

97. I never expected to meet or connect with anyone through blogging, but I�ve met some lovely people so far and hope to meet more.

98. This is entry #402.

99. I�ve been working on it for a week.

100. I couldn't come up with three more things to make it to 100.



oldies || goodies